• SC-Slide-2


The STA International Learn to Swim Programmeswimstar

We are an STA accredited Swim School and follow the STA International Learn to Swim Programme (ILSP) which is an incentive based swimming skills scheme. We also follow the ASA LTSP and RLSS Rookie Award.

The ILSP programme recognises that pupils learn to swim at different ages and progress at varying paces. We share the same beliefs at Aquakids. We want your kids to learn to swim at a pace that is comfortable for them and achieve the required outcome. 

The stages we follow are listed below (details culled from the STA website)

Starfish Series

STARFISH is an innovative series of 6 progressive awards designed to introduce babies from a few months old with the accompanying adult to a water adventure where water confidence and safety skills are introduced. 

Octopus Series

This stage is designed to develop their water confidence and their swimming skills.  Our teachers are competent to deal with even the most nervous of swimmers.  We understand that children have different abilities; we always work alongside their strengths to achieve swimming success.

On completion of the Octopus Series, pupils progress through to Goldfish series, Angelfish Series and Shark Series.
Click here for Octopus competences and outcome http://www.sta.co.uk/octopus/

Goldfish Series

The next step after the Angelfish series is the Octopus Series. On completion of this series, swimmers will be able to swim 15 meters without any aid as well as perform basic floats.
Click here for Angelfish competences and outcome http://www.sta.co.uk/goldfish/ 

Angelfish Series

Swimmers who have completed the stages above can now progress to the Angelfish series. At the end of this series each pupil will be capable of swimming 25 meters without aid, perform butterfly stroke as well as mastering sculling techniques and entries to the water.

Click here for Angelfish competences and outcome http://www.sta.co.uk/angelfish/

Shark Series

Shark Series educates swimmers in basic water rescue and survival techniques as well as starts and turns for each of the strokes. On completion of the series pupils will be able to swim 100 metres.

Click here for Shark expected competences and outcome http://www.sta.co.uk/shark/

Advanced Skills

At Level 7, the Advanced Swimmer Series consisting of three levels, Bronze, Silver and Gold; each award has a badge and certificate. This series develops swimming technique, speed, stamina and water polo or synchronized swimming skills.

Click here for Advanced stage expected competences and outcome. http://www.sta.co.uk/advanced/
Culled from the STA website http://www.sta.co.uk/